Louisiana born guitar star Norman Brown is not only popular among his fans, affectionately called the Normantics. It speaks for his quality that every music critic thinks highly of him and he also enjoys an excellent reputation among famous musicians like Gorge Benson. Everything is confirmed by sales figures that go into the platinum range and finally his work is crowned by winning a GRAMMY.

Norman is not a musician who rests on his merits, he is dedicated to his music with too much heart blood. His newest project is Heart To Heart, which will be released on August 7, 2020. This is his 12th album and the third on Shanachie Entertainment. Norman called and they all came. The following musicians have joined his project: Lew Laing (keys), Roberto Vally (bass), Paul Brown (drums and Wah Wah guitar), Lee Thornburg (trumpet and horn arrangement), Greg Vail (sax), Lenny Castro (percussion), Peter White (nylon guitar), Jeff Carruthers (keys, drum and bass programming), Jeff Lorber (piano, keys), Teddy Campbell (drums), Gregg Karukas (keys), David Mann (horns), Chris "Big Dog" Davis (drums, bass, keyboards programming), Phil Davis (keys and drum programming), Sonny Emory (drums), Sean Michael Ray (bass), Gary Novak (drums), Nate Kearny (bass), Lil' John Roberts (drums), Tres Gilbert (bass), and Ira Moore IV (vocals).

Legendary guitarist Wes Montgomery is one of Norman's idols, deeply influencing his music. Heading Wes is Norman's tribute to this guitar giant and also to Norman's father who was an avid lover of Wes' music. The combination of Norman Brown and Peter White on the title track promises a musical delicacy and indeed both masters of their instruments find the perfect harmonies and interplay.

On Unconditional Jeff Lorber on synth bass is undoubtedly the driving force that propels Norman Brown to top performances and lets his virtuosity shine. Norman Brown is a devout musician with deep spirituality. Amen comes from the center of his heart. Just Groovin' is the aptly title for exactly what you can listen too.

The title already suggests it. Brighter My Light Shines is directed to Heaven. A spiritual collaboration between Norman and keyboardist Phil Davis. Also the relationship between two people is not neglected in Norman's repertoire. She's Mine starts with a fantastic horn arrangement by David Mann and Jeff Lorber's keyboard wizardry is out of this world.

I Miss Your Groove is a hypnotic run between Norman and Phil perfectly accompanied by Lil' John Roberts' rim shot rhythm. Professionalism, and total musicianship are also written on the banner of Ocean Breeze featuring Jeff Lorber on keys. Paul Jackson and David Mann join the line-up of the previous song in Keep The Faith giving the song the extra power.

Final track of the album is Outside The Norm, which already stands out from the rest of the album with a playing time of 8:27. But also stylistically Norman treads a new world, which shows his rocking corners and edges.

Norman Brown never lets you down on his album Heart To Heart. One captivating and enticing song after another lines up like a string of rainbow-colored pearls.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Heart To Heart
Artist: Norman Brown
Year: 2020
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Shanachie Entertainment


1) Heading Wes (3:21)
2) Heart To Heart (4:11)
3) Unconditional (3:43)
4) Amen (3:35)
5) Just Groovin' (4:25)
6) Brighter My Light Shines (4:23)
7) She's Mine (5:16)
8) I Miss Your Groove (3:37)
9) Ocean Breeze (4:13)
10) Keep the Faith (3:45)
11) Outside The Norm (8:27)


Further Reviews:

Just Chillin'

Stay With Me 

Sending My Love


Let It Go

The Highest Act Of Love