Hailing from Denmark saxophonist Michael Lington delights since many years the smooth jazz scene with his solo albums. After his self-titled debut album (1997) followed Vivid (2002), Everything Must Change (2002), Stay With Me (2004), A Song For You (2006) and Heat (2008). Also to mention Best of Michael Lington The Songbook Collection (2010).

His newest album is entitled Pure, scheduled for release February 14th 2012 on Trippin N' Rhythm. Guest musicians are Michael Bolton, Lee Ritenour, Jonathan Butler, Brian Culbertson, Ray Parker Jr., Jeff Golub, Jeff Babko, Paul Jackson Jr. and many more. The album was produced by executive producer Les Cutmore.

The album starts with Roadtrip, a song which is since January on heavy rotation on many smooth jazz radio stations. A co-production of Michael and Brian Culbertson the funky tune features Lee Ritenour on guitar. The song has its edgy moments, which is a fortunate refreshment.

As counterpart understandable is the mellow Serenade. Co-produced by Michael Broening the song gets glamour by Torcuato Mariano's acoustic guitar and Lington's emotional alto sax. The up-tempo Playtime takes a glimpse at the Rock music of the eighties. The song reminds me of Huey Lewis' Hip to Be Square.

With Lower East Slide Lington continues this energy driven and fast paced style. Jeff Babko (Toto, Larry Carlton, James Taylor) adds the perfect retro sound on Wurlitzer, Hammond B3 and Clavinet. Michael Stever contributes a mighty horn arrangement. Autry DeWalt Mixon, better known as Junior Walker, composed the legendary Shotgun. The song is as demanding as it is popular. Lington stands up the immense challenge with flying colors in full mastery.

On Like Old Times Lington conjures a vintage feeling especially for those, who are already full of years. Bill Withers' megahit Lovely Day was often covered by smooth jazz artists like Walter Beasley, Elan Trotman, Luico Hopper, Peter White, Michael Manson and many more. I especially love Tollak Ollestad's harmonica solo and Thano Sahnas' acoustic guitar decoration, which fades out too soon. With Movin On Lington pays anew tribute to the mainstream Rock. Crossover is the magic word of success.

Lington loves the contact to his fans and when he can take a bath in the crowd, both are enjoyed. Come On Over is such a melody for his high energy concerts. More slow and relaxing is the final tune A Simpler Time, an invitation to dream.

Pure means without any extraneous and unnecessary elements. Michael Lington's music doesn't match the title but absolutely mirrors Lington's contemporary multi-faceted repertoire.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Pure
Artist: Michael Lington
Year: 2012
Length: 0:45:15
Genre: General Jazz
Label: Trippin' N Rhythm


01 Roadtrip   [4:19]
02 The Serenade  [4:43]
03 Playtime  [4:19]
04 Lower East Slide   [4:45]
05 Shotgun   [3:34]
06 Like Old Times   [4:40]
07 Lovely Day   [4:40]
08 Movin On  [4:40]
09 Come On Over   [5:02]
10 A Simpler Time   [4:32]

Further Reviews:


Michael Lington