The closer Christmas approaches, the more appear every year new Christmas albums. Even the least jazz musicians can escape this influence. Peggy Dusquesnel's double CDs are still one of the better specimens of the genre.

An instrumental and a vocal album allow us choosing our personal taste. In addition to classic hymns she also offers us her own compositions on both CDs. Peggy is supported by Jay Leech (guitar), Brian Kilgore (percussion) and Andre Mayeux (string orchestrations).

The instrumental album starts with Little Drummer Boy, Harry Simeone's popular Christmas song. While Peggy plays with the right hand the classic theme, she adds with the left hand a jazzy addition before the introduction meanders into a free improvisational part.

The interpretation of O Come, O Come Emmanuel shines with Brian Bromberg's wonderful acoustic bass solo and an extensive piano rendition. The title song impresses with Rick Braun's lead on the flugelhorn. The less known Mary Did You Know is very melodious with a Latin impact.

Hark the Herald Angels Sing was recorded with a great respect for the original. Something like this it will sound on some Christmas concerts. The buoyant Christmas is Here fits perfectly into this concept. Peggy's approach to the classic hymn O Christmas Tree is quite unusual. She takes the Latin avenue.

Silent Night, however, is interpreted as a country music piece. What Child Is This? is a popular Christmas carol written in 1865. Peggy mixes it up with Petite Fleur. Her own song Under the Christmas Tree has, apart from the Christmas character strong traits of country music. I Wonder as I Wander by folklorist and singer John Jacob Niles is brilliantly modeled by Peggy and Brian Bromberg.

Final piece on the instrumental album is Light of Christmas in full jazz swing. While the instrumental music conveys a contemplative impression, one finds on the vocal album plenty of excitement.

Peggy's Santa Claus Is Coming To Town is consistent and in view of the high performance of the involved musicians a delight. On Mary Did You Know Peggy duets with Emma Werderman in wonderful harmonies. With Light Of Christmas she delivers another composition to the eternal Christmas hymns.

Silent Night is the vocal equivalent to the instrumental version of the first album. Also the second disc can not miss the title track. This time, Peggy sings a duet with Bill Cantos. On Breath Of Heaven (Mary's Song) and on Under The Christmas Tree both team up again. I Wonder As I Wander follows as vocal song. This time the second CD is closed with the swinging Christmas is Here.

Sometimes you should not wait until Christmas to give gifts yourself or others. All I Ask for Christmas is an ideal present for the quick deciders.







Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: All I Ask for Christmas (Instrumental)
Artist: Peggy Duquesnel
Year: 2013
Length: 0:51:37
Genre: General Holiday
Label: Joy Spring Music

01 Little Drummer Boy (Instrumental Version) [4:58]
02 O Come, O Come Emmanuel (Instrumental Version) [4:20]
03 All I Ask for Christmas (Instrumental Version) [4:51]
04 Mary Did You Know (Instrumental Version) [4:12]
05 Hark the Herald Angels Sing (Instrumental Version) [4:35]
06 Christmas is Here (Instrumental Version) [4:13]
07 O Christmas Tree (Instrumental Version) [4:23]
08 Silent Night (Instrumental Version) [3:30]
09 What Child is This (Instrumental Version) [4:28]
10 Under the Christmas Tree (Instrumental Version) [4:10]
11 I Wonder as I Wander (Instrumental Version) [4:01]
12 Light of Christmas (Instrumental Version) [3:57]

Title: All I Ask For Christmas (Vocal)
Artist: Peggy Duquesnel
Year: 2013
Length: 0:37:16
Genre: Christmas Jazz
Label: Joy Spring Music

01 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town [3:35]
02 Mary Did You Know [4:13]
03 Light Of Christmas [3:59]
04 Silent Night [3:28]
05 All I Ask For Christmas [4:52]
06 Breath Of Heaven (Mary's Song) [3:45]
07 Under The Christmas Tree [5:15]
08 I Wonder As I Wander [4:00]
09 Christmas Is Here [4:10]

Further review:

Seems Like I Know You