Although known for his cooperation with jazz saxophonist Ronnie Laws, singer Randy Crawford and trumpet player Rick Braun Craig Sharmat earned his merits mainly as composer of trailers for movies like King Kong, Ghost Rider, Eragon, Anchorman, and songs for the TV series like CSI Miami, Without A Trace and many more.

Last year he started his solo career as a guitarist with his album So Cal Drivin receiving rave reviews of many Internet critics. The single of this album was in the Billboard charts for seventeen weeks. With his new album Outside In Craig offers proof for the persistence of his innovative career.

Craig assembled on his new project prominent musicians like Rick Braun, Rayford Griffin, Gregg Karukas, Phillipe Saisse, Luis Conte, Greg Matheison, Dan Lutz, Nate Najar, Mark Hollingsworth and many more.

With the orchestral introduction of Bossa Newva Craig showcases his heritage as film composer, but his affinity for seductive melodies is stronger, just for this time. While the jazz guitar follows the melody line, the song is brilliant with a fine arrangement of horns and strings.

On The Back Nine Mark Hollingworh (sax) and Rick Braun (trumpet) create a wonderful horn layer, a fantastic backbone for Craig's excellence on jazz guitar. Ease Up is not the usual Reggae, one can hear in a Jamaican bar. This is more a start up of a new reverb experience.

The title song Outside In reveals more of the complexity and the multi-layers of Craig's arrangements. The direction is obvious. Enjoy the audience. A New Day, a day of new life, new hope and new beginnings. Forget the faults of the past, look forward. This is the message of Craig's uplifting song. Coastal Rains is inspired by the Southern Oregon coast, a nice stretch of coastline that includes North Bend through Brookings offering parks and trails that roll high above the ocean giving sight to breathtaking scenery.

Repo City is Craig's homage to Tower of Power. Craig has a special relationship to the guitarist Bruce Conte, who was a member of this group and just returned to the group after a hiatus of 25 years. When the light is gone and the night crawls in, it's the time for Nite Moves. Craig wrote this song as first of this album.

Saints is a rendition of the American gospel hymn When the Saints Go Marching In, covered by Louis Armstrong, Bill Haley and Fats Domino. Time for a rockish smooth jazz interpretation. Something About You was one of the best songs by British Jazz funk band Level 42 in 1985, gaining Platinum status in a short time. This was the soundtrack of Craig's life for more than one year. Only natural to give this song a monument on Craig's album.

Inspired by the great American composer Aaron Copeland Craig chooses his notes meaningfully in this style to create his final orchestral approach. Mark Hollingsworth gives the project the necessary fine tuning with his wind arrangement.

Craig's second album Outside In exposes his great potential as composer and jazz guitarist. The future will tell us which direction this artist will select. In any case an enormous inspiration for the smooth jazz world.






Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Outside In
Artist: Craig Sharmat
Year: 2010
Length: 0:49:31
Genre: General Jazz


01 Bossa Newva [5:44]
02 The Back Nine [4:29]
03 Ease Up [4:07]
04 Outside In [4:20]
05 A New Day [6:14]
06 Coastal Rains [3:41]
07 Repo City [3:55]
08 Nite Moves [4:50]
09 Saints [4:33]
10 Something About You [4:24]
11 Amber Fields [3:14]

Further Review:

So Cal Drivin