Keyboardist Chris Geith is known for his sales success on the internet platform His recent albums Timeless World (2007) and Island Of A Thousand Dreams (2010) were also chart toppers. His collaboration with David Wells No Side Effects (2013) was often played on radio stations around the USA.

His newest album Chasing Rainbows (2014) is currently available as download only, but Chris has promised to manufacture some CDs for his next show. The first track Andromeda shines with elegant piano performance. Atmospheric force receives the piece through sustainable reverb effects. Comparable is this with Brian Culbertson's newest effort Another Long Night Out.

However, Chris' music tends more to the New Age field. Green Shadow wide spreads romantic advances. Absolute Magnitude takes the style sheet of the first piece again. Chasing Rainbows has nothing to do with Ray Wilson's album. It is knit more for the Weather Channel, where Chris found already considerable appeal.

Celestial Equator reminds me of the music of Jean Michel Jarre, while Chris is based more on the strength of the piano in opposite to the synthesizer. On YouTube there are numerous videos of his new songs like for example Freedom At Sunrise. The reaction is throughout positive.

The journey continues with Roundtrip To The Stars. Chris puts great emphasis on harmonies. As well as the development of the melody and the arrangement is not neglected like on Evening Starlight. Can we expect surprises? Heat Index simmers with elements of rock. Otherwise, Chris remains true to himself. Early On Cruise includes a delightful guitar component.

His fans come with Chasing Rainbows to their usual feelings of happiness. More perhaps next time.







Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Chasing Rainbows
Artist: Chris Geith
Year: 2014
Length: 0:49:03
Genre: General Jazz
Label: CDBaby

01 Andromeda [4:05]
02 Green Shadow [4:40]
03 Absolute Magnitude [3:36]
04 Chasing Rainbows [3:16]
05 Celestial Equator [3:20]
06 Freedom At Sunrise [4:13]
07 Roundtrip To The Stars [4:02]
08 Evening Starlight [4:31]
09 Oxygen From Mars [3:17]
10 After The Rain [3:23]
11 Heat Index [3:40]
12 Chain Reaction [3:23]
13 Early Am Cruise [3:37]

Further reviews

Timeless World

Island Of Thousand Dreams