Contemporary jazz group Airborne from New Haven comprises of Gregory Borino (guitars, vocals), Thomas Sansone (sax, flute, vocals), Thomas Borino (piano, keyboards, organ, vocals), Dave Ramsey (drums), Donnell Roberts (bass), Asher Delerme (percussion) and Randy Bost (trumpet, flugelhorn).

They started their career with Take Off in 1990, followed by Across The Sky (1995), Lifetones (1999), Heavy Vibes (2004), Turbulence (2007), Winds of Change (2008) and in 2009 New Horizons. Their newest album Back In The Dayz - Airborne Anthology (2011) is a Best-of-album of their previous hits and new songs. The tunes from their earlier albums are re-mastered.

The grooving Back In The Dayz introduces into the album presenting the group as a great entertaining unit. You are welcome to the party! Thomas Sansone (sax) and Randy Bost (trumpet) deliver a hot packet.

The Bossa Nova flavored Movin Forward showcases a splendid Gregory Bonino on guitars. On Better Days Ahead  the group begins with  relaxed guitar loops in the style of The Chic before Thomas Borino soon displays his piano skills.

The uplifting Winds Of Change is featuring comprehensible and audible the flute. The melody is taken over by Thomas' piano. Gregory Borino's horn arrangement as supporting background is superb and just in the point.

It's a constant part of the repertoire of many live bands. Bossa Nova la Brazilian Praise. Maysa's R&B tinged Smooth Sailing is only sharing the title of the next song. Airborne's vision of this term is grounded in peaceful waters. I See walks further on the smooth line. Festival At Sunset digs deeper into Brazilian music with a dip of Santana.

Island View opens the Caribbean site of the group with some reggae feeling recommending the group for a smooth jazz cruise. The soulful duet Trust In Love is featuring the singer Elizabeth Dellinger. There is no further information about her at Airborne's website, although she has an impressing voice worth to investigate her biography. Greg Borino's Hollow Moon conjures the silent moment, when the moonlight is shimmering over the calm sea. Wonderful guitar art work.

A Saturday Afternoon conveys some moody elements. Sansone paints the atmosphere in saxual light. With Sunny Skies the group follows the path to the beach. Keep the uplifted moments coming. They are often too rare. Just The Way I Feel is saxophonist Thomas Sansone's personal tribute to the album.  Bounce combines marching elements with a modern jazz horn arrangement.

A film score? Why not, Gate 7 shows a dynamic tension and jazzy interferences. The albums closes with Anthology, Airborne's personal Thank You to their loyal fans.

Back In The Dayz - Airborne Anthology is an amazing collection of America's up and coming supergroup Airborne. Contemporary jazz isn't dead.





Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Back In The Dayz - Airborne Anthology
Artist: Airborne
Year: 2011
Length: 1:17:11
Genre: General Jazz
Label: Heavy Vibes Music


01 Back In The Dayz [4:39]
02 Movin Forward [4:24]
03 Better Days Ahead [3:57]
04 Winds Of Change [4:14]
05 Brazilian Praise [4:16]
06 Smooth Sailing [4:22]
07 I See [4:53]
08 Festival At Sunset [5:43]
09 Island View [4:46]
10 Trust In Love [5:22]
11 Hollow Moon [5:40]
12 A Saturday Afternoon [5:42]
13 Sunny Skies [3:53]
14 Just The Way I Feel [5:32]
15 Bounce [3:41]
16 Gate 7 [5:11]
17 Anthology [0:55]


Further reviews:

Heavy Vibes

Winds of Change

New Horizons