Airborne - Winds of Change


Formed in 1988 the group Airborne looks now back on 20 years of recordings, jazz festivals, gigs, the whole ups and downs of being musicians. Based in New Haven, CT, USA, Airborne has received worldwide acclaims. The band consists of Steven Clarke (bass), Gregory Borino (guitars), Thomas Sansone (sax), Thomas Borino (piano, keyboards, organ, vocals), Asher Delerme (percussion) and Dean Kosh (drums). These musicians are joined on the new project Winds of Change by Randy Bost (trumpet, flugelhorn) Elisabeth Dellinger (background vocals) and on some of the tracks drummers Adrian Tramontano and Alwyn Smith.

The celebration of the 20th anniversary is a good opportunity to see at a glance their previous work. The group started with Take Off in 1990, followed by Across The Sky (1995), Lifetones (1999), Heavy Vibes (2004) and Turbulence (2007). The new album Winds of Change (2008) follows a special concept and impetus:

"Projects for Global Warming, Hunger, Natural Disasters, New Energy Resources, and Economical Distress have been created. All these concerns and factors have stressed our earth to its boiling point. The time is now for change. Without prejudice we must all stand together to achieve peace and global unity to take on this difficult task.

We must reach out our hands to the world. We can make this earth a better place to live. No matter what faith, race, color, or wealth you have. We are all children of this world. Help save our planet and its children! Reach out your hand and ride the Winds of Change!"

With this impetus in mind Airborne sees Better Days Ahead. Starting with  relaxed guitar loops in the style of The Chic Thomas Borino soon showcases his piano skills. The uplifting Winds Of Change is featuring comprehensible and audible the flute. The melody is taken over by Thomas' piano. Gregory Borino's horn arrangement as supporting background is superb and just in the point.

It's a constant part of the repertoire of many live bands. Bossa Nova la Brazilian Praise. And some Calypso la Calypso Night isn't bad too. This captivating tune will push you to the dance floor. Gregory's acoustic guitar delivers Spanish flavor in Spanish Guitar, while the original character is changed by the massive sax placement.

We drive further with Magic In The City. While the main melody is performed by Thomas Sasone on flute Thomas Borino sets accents with his furious piano play. The provocative title Just One Night turns out as smooth ballade featuring Sansone's soprano sax. All Tied Up is another significant example for the perfect interplay of all musicians.

Rising Higher reminds of the British group Shakatak. There are certain similarities between both groups. The album is finished with a reprise of the title song. The reprise is a collage of recordings of famous contemporaries and the final message of the group.

Airborne offers with their 6th instalment entertainment in the quality we can await from such an experienced group. A nice mixture of fun and lecture.



Title: Winds Of Change
Artist: Airborne
Year: 2008
Length: 0:43:18
Genre: General Jazz
Label: Heavy Vibes Music


01 Better Days Ahead [3:58]
02 Winds Of Change [4:13]
03 Brazilian Praise [4:27]
04 Calypso Night [4:14]
05 Spanish Guitar [4:41]
06 Magic In The City [5:34]
07 Just One Night [4:21]
08 All Tied Up [4:11]
09 Rising Higher [4:53]
10 Winds Of Change (Reprise) [2:45]