Jazz trumpeter Greg Adams, known by his work for Tower of Power, is now building a new monument with the formation East Bay Soul.  Adams has recorded six solo albums, two releases with East Bay Soul and fourteen recordings as a founding member of Tower of Power. That's Life is his third album with the band.

Greg is joined by Kay-Ta Matsuno, guitar, Joey Navarro, keys, Dwayne “Smitty” Smith, bass, Herman Matthews, drums and Johnny Sandoval, percussion. The horn section consist of Lee Thornburg, trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn and trombone, Johnnie Bamont, alto, tenor and bari sax. Greg Vail, alto and tenor sax.

If one frequently plays with a band, then the recording of a new CD is a flash. Greg say’s꞉ “It’s like looking bliss in the eye. Before you know it, we’ve made a record. It is amazing how it happens.” The album starts powerfully with Little Black Dress. Darryl Walker gives this song his voice and makes it to his own. With Hush Hush Greg Adams presents his muted trumpet in perfect harmony with the horn section. A self-perpetuating piece.

The Beatles song Come Together receives an attractive coating by Greg's muted trumpet. Do you like Reggae? Then listen to the cool Get Smart. After the intro the horizon opens to the full brass sound. On Going Circles Darryl Walker impresses anew with his melodious voice well supported by a broad horn arrangement. Didn’t Wanna Do It is not a piece as musician would regret to play. It starts restrained and then gets infectious.

The sentimental Grow Old With Me has for Greg certainly biographical traits. Though it is a love letter written for a friend’s wife. Earth To Mars is funky and rocking, a salute to Greg’s percussive horn style and a tribute retro funk.  Without You comes with a melancholic trumpet and a mellow string background. The bombastic themed orchestral song (Greg's description) Damned If You do got his lyrics by Rocky Maffit. Greg comments꞉ “Rocky had it for a while and nothing was coming to him, until one day he said “Damned If I Do” out loud. Now we had the title and lyric for the song.″

Final piece is the classic Let’s Stay Together by Al Green. This song is very popular with renditions of Eric Darius, Peter White, Walter Beasley and more. Every musician has a special approach. East Bay Soul's very own version has to thank Darryl Walker. East Bay Soul is a high powered band with the great soul singer Darryl Walker and a formidable horn section. That's Life is the next step to a new legend.





Buy the album

Album information

1. Little black Dress
2. Hush Hush
3. Come Together
4. Get Smart
5. Going Circles
6. Didn’t Wanna Do It
7. Grow Old With Me
8. Earth To Mars
9. Without You
10. Damned If You do
11. Let’s Stay Together

Further Reviews:

East Bay Soul

East Bay Soul 2.0

Cool To The Touch

Interview with Greg Adams