Saxophonist Theresa Grayson from Texas is inspired by Charlie Parker, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Stan Getz and Grover Washington Jr. These big names are not only a model but also mean an obligation.

Theresa showed her talent on several national festivals and shared the stage with Peter White, Marion Meadows, Joe Sample, Ronnie Laws, and Michael Bolton.

She started her musical career with the album It’s All About You (2010), now followed with her sophomore album Live2Love (2013). Theresa performs on her new album tenor and soprano sax and is accompanied by Terence Fisher (keyboard, bass, drum programming, music programming, background vocals), Quincy Cole  (keyboard) Robert Darrett (drums), Will Curtis (bass), and Karl Johnson (guitar).

Most of the tunes are well-arranged covers of popular songs giving her a quick access to the listeners. Slightly hidden, there are also four self-composed pieces. The opening track More Pressure is a distinctive contemporary jazz piece that Theresa's reputation as saxophonist does absolutely good.

Bruno Mars’ Locked Out of Heaven is not a big challenge for Theresa, but nicely fits into the smooth jazz format. Sarah Smile of the American musical duo Hall & Oates has a strong emotional potential, that Theresa can take full advantage of. With Sade's Smooth Operator she also presents her vocal prowess. Personally I  prefer the instrumental part of the song.

John Legend's
Tonight (Best You Ever Had) is transformed sensitively. Who knows Maroon 5's Moves Like Jagger, will be pleasantly surprised by Theresa's captivating instrumentation. Her selection includes classics like Natural Woman that she succeeds exceptionally well.

More interesting, however, are their own compositions, which are characterized by rich details and depth.
Spend My Life shines with an emotional soprano sax framed by a vocal chorus. Afterthoughts goes strong with Fisher's music programming. Close Your Eyes speaks to the romantics. Just A Little Time gives more hours of leisure in the candlelight.

The album closes with
It Never Rains in Southern California, often copied by smooth jazz musicians like Earl Carter, Rodney Franklin or Alexander Boynton. Theresa proves with her rendition a good taste.
With Live 2 Love Theresa Grayson has shown that to her is the future. Her album has stood comparison with any other smooth jazz veterans.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Live 2 Love
Artist: Theresa Grayson
Year: 2013
Length: 0:50:35
Genre: General Jazz
Label: L2L Records


01 More Pressure [4:40]
02 Locked Out Of Heaven [3:46]
03 Sarah Smile [4:35]
04 Smooth Operator [4:23]
05 Tonight (Best You Ever Had) [4:05]
06 Moves Like Jagger [4:00]
07 Natural Woman [3:36]
08 Spend My Life [4:30]
09 Afterthoughts [3:43]
10 Close Your Eyes [4:02]
11 Just A Little Time [4:05]
12 It Never Rains In Southern California [5:11]