To talk about a Christmas album in January, is certainly a little late. On the other hand, the album contains a high content of jazz, which makes it digestible even out of season. The Messenger is saxophonist Phil Denny's sophomore album released in 2013.

Phil was joined by Nate Harasim (keys, programming), Matt Godina (guitar, Rhodes), Lin Rountree (trumpet, flugelhorn), and many more. The album was produced by Nate Harasim, who also arranged the songs together with Phil Denny.

The album starts with Radio Flyer, a song  that connects seamlessly on his first solo album Crossover (2012). Phil performs on a high level comparable with his idols Boney James and Richard Elliot.

The actual Christmas part begins with God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman. The traditional Christmas carol comes with a modern contemporary arrangement. The tranquility gives way to a dance style. In contrast, White Christmas convinced with great atmosphere which is particularly mediated by male singer Jalen Seawright.

The melody of Do You Hear What I Hear is underlined by a nice flow, which brings the listener out of the Christmas spirit to a more danceable region. Milk & Cookies is an appetizing piece that already displaced by its rhythm the audience into vibrations.

Certainly Phil asked how I bring the listener back into Christmas mood. This Christmas brings the desired results. Singer Darnell Kendricks contributes to this in particular. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas is played with extraordinary ease. More tidbits are Little Drummer Boy, Deck The Halls and the solemn The Messenger. Children, it's time for the handing out of presents, I've already mine.






Buy the album

Album Information

Title: The Messenger
Artist: Phil Denny
Year: 2013
Length: 0:40:23
Genre: General Holiday
Label: Off/Sheet Music

01 Radio Flyer [3:51]
02 God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman [3:42]
03 White Christmas [4:23]
04 Do You Hear What I Hear [3:46]
05 Milk & Cookies [4:23]
06 This Christmas [3:36]
07 Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas [4:04]
08 Little Drummer Boy [3:18]
09 Deck The Halls [3:38]
10 The Messenger [5:41]