Saxophonist Greg Chambers has five trumps in his hand. City Lights (2006), Greg Chambers (2011), After Hours (2013), Can't Help Myself (2014) and A New Day (2018).

The new album will be released June 21, 2018. For the purpose of quality assurance, Greg has brought in the best producers and musicians the smooth jazz market has to offer. The liner notes mention Matt Godina (keyboards, bass, & drum programming), Nate Harasim (guitar, keyboards, drum programming, synths), Paul Brown (guitars), Lew Laing (keyboards, bass & drum programming), who also have written the tracks in cooperation with Greg.

The project is also joined by David P. Stevens (lead & rhythm guitars),  Roberto Vally (bass), Kenji Matsui and Adam Hawley (guitars), Rodney Franklin (keyboards), Preston Smith, Lin Rountree  (flugelhorn) and Nils (guitar).

The album begins with the uplifting title track grabbing your attention with a positive mood. With Greg's fine sax overdubs and David P. Stevens' melodious guitar chords the tune has a wonderful flow. When I Think of You is not a cover of Janet Jacksons' great hit but Greg's work with Nate Harasim. The song embodies Greg's responsive sensibility in soft saxtones.

Side to Side allures with a compassionate sound on tenor sax which can not be surpassed in cautiousness. Sweet Embrace comes from the kitchen of successful producer Paul Brown, he adds sweet guitar sounds to Greg's sultry performance. Midnight Drive features Lew Laing on keyboards as a welcome instrumental variation.

Gotta Get Back to You evokes with old fashion drum programming associations with Marvin Gaye's Sexual Healing. Once in a While features a catching duet between Greg and guitarist Paul Brown. Tell Me All Your Secrets differs a little from the style of the previous songs. Thanks to Nate Harasim, who introduces a modern appealing sound.

On 'Til Sunrise Greg continues to navigate between contemporary urban music and saxual sweetness. The final All for You can be easily classified in the category love ballads.

Saxophonist Greg Chambers delivers with A New Day a solid album for all lovers of the smooth jazz saxophone. He always creates a cozy atmosphere fore those who prefer soothing and calming music.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: A New Day
Year: 2018
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: n/a

01 A New Day
02 When I Think of You
03 Side to Side
04 Sweet Embrace
05 Midnight Drive
06 Gotta Get Back to You
07 Once in a While
08 Teil Me All Your Secrets
09 Til Sunrise
10 All for You

Further reviews:

Can't Help Myself

After Hours