Washington DC based jazz guitarist and bassist Earl Carter has worked with an overwhelming amount of musicians such as Marcus Johnson, Alyson Williams, Bobby Lyle, Freddie Jackson, Angela Bofill, Regina Belle, Marion Meadows, Michael Lington, Jackiem Joyner, and more.

His solo projects are No Frettin’ (2002), 495 (2005), My Paradise (2007), Project X (2009), Old School (2011), Welcome Back Carter (2013), and Simplicity (2014). In 2011 he released the EP’s Yeah Mon and Summertime. My Life … ln Your Hands, a Christian Contemporary album, was released in 2015. His newest project Silky is now available.

On his new album he is performing with Arrington Price (keyboards and programming), Marion Meadows, (sax), Charles Foster (bass), Shawn Dove (programming), Marcus Johnson (piano), Les Cleveland (drums), Michael Lington (sax), Glenn Douglas (keyboards and programming), Elliot Jefferson (keyboards and programming), Jackiem Joyner (sax), Elyscia Jefferson (vocals), Eric Marner (sax), David Dyson (bass), Dwayne "Kiggo" Wellman (drums), and Patrick Cooper (keyboards and programming). 

Earl steps out the gate with Give Me a Groove, a solid flow of guitar licks, bass line and drum programming. The track has an ambient urban vibe and celebrate hypnotic notes. Last Of The Year features legendary saxophonist Marion Meadows who performs the song with great truthfulness.

The title song is finger-snipping good and rousing. Featured artist is Marcus Johnson on tempered piano, while the most active and prolific one is Earl on piccolo bass, bass and guitar.

On Pop Life Earl nearly performs all instruments on this tracks and collectively wraps them into a landscape of groove, while Les Cleveland plays the drums. Saxophonist Michael Lington rises up significantly the level of It Happened To Me. While Earl's guitar soloing pours out a more then sufficient dose of passion.

I bought the album Heartbreak by New Edition in 1988 not because of the harmonious vocals, but because I loved the LA sounds of the keyboards. Can You Stand the Rain is a cover of this album on which Elyscia Jefferson performs the choral part, while saxophonist Jackiem Joyner and Earl share the main theme.

Fun Time pays respect to the fact that the bass is heavy. Eric Marner on the saxophone mixes the whole thing up with some improvisation. Nonchalance is also the main attribute of It's All Butter featuring saxophonist Phillip "Doc" Martin.

Night And Day wasn't written by Cole Porter, composer is keyboardist Arrington Price who tailored the piece to bassist David Dyson. Sitting In The Park was originally written and performed in 1965 by Billy Stewart for his album I Do Love You. A timeless melody, which Earl together with keyboardist Patrick Cooper gives new brilliance.

Guitarist Earl Carter presents with Silky a successful mix of old and new, originals and covers, never losing sight of the real goal to provide the audience with the maximum entertainment.







Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Silky
Artist: Earl Carter
Year: 2019
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Independent

1 Give Me a Groove 4:12
2 Last of the Year 4:14
3 Silky 4:00
4 Pop Life 4:30
5 It Happened to Me 4:21
6 Can You Stand the Rain 4:10
7 Fun Time 4:13
8 It's All Butter 4:52
9 Night and Day 4:18
10 Sitting in the Park 4:41