Yonrico Scott is one of Atlanta's most sought-after studio drummers. As a member of the Derek Trucks Band he released with this group seven recordings. Their album Already Free  received a Grammy. Yonrico also collaborates & tours internationally with Grammy Award Winner, Earl Klugh, and his own band, the Yonrico Scott Band (YSB), together with Kofi Burbridge, keys/flute, and Todd Smallie, bass. YSBís debut release, Turning the Corner, was released in 2004.

His solo album Be In My World was released in 2012 on the Blue Canoe label. Quest Of The Big Drum followed in 2014. Only A Smile is his third solo project on this label. The album features Ronda Scott (vocals), Kofi Burbridge (keys/flute), Todd Smallie (bass), Joseph Patrick Moore (bass), Larry Jackson (alto/tenor sax), Mace Hibbard (alto/tenor sax), YS Jr. (hand percussion), Lebron Scott (bass), Randy Honea (guitar), Buzz Amato (keys), Rick Hinkel (guitar), Count Mubutu (congas), Grant Green Jr. (guitar), Bruno Spreight (guitar), Oliver Wells (keys, bass, string arr.), Tiffany Jackson (bgv) and Minnie Orr (bgv).

The album starts with a funky attitude. Swish offers a savvy horn arrangement decorated with vintage organ and Rhodes piano. Dance Of Life follows this style, however, presents more vigorous saxophone performance. The rockish guitar-driven Them Changes cites Jimi Hendrix in play.

Out Of The Madness features Kofi Burbridge on flute and keys in an exciting contemporary jazz excursion. But then Yonrico presents his drummer arts in all excellence. This is his piece. Crazy is by far the longest song on the album. This is a perfect example for the live staging of this group. The interlude Ode To Ricky is a hefty percussion tune with the participation of conga player Count Mubutu. The best Yonrico Scott has kept for last. The title song features first class vocalist Ronda Scott, a vocalist on her own.

Versatility is Yonrico's magic word. With this album he holds his high standards and his promise.







Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Only A Smile
Artist: Yonrico Scott
Year: 2015
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Blue Canoe


01. Swish (3:41)
02. Dance Of Life (3:35)
03. Them Changes (4:13)
04. Out Of The Madness (4:41)
05. Crazy (6:49)
06. Ode To Ricky (2:10)
07. Only A Smile (5:47)