Mount Vernon native Mike Phillips is since several years an integral part of the label Hidden Beach Recordings. Phillips' debut album, You Have Reached Mike Phillips, was released by Hidden Beach in May 2002. In 2005 followed his sophomore album Uncommon Denominator. You can also listen to his signature sax on Hidden Beach's serial Unwrapped Vol. 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7.

But Mike is far more creative. He performed on Experience: Jill Scott 826+ (2001), Stevie Wonder's A Time To Love (2005), or Tom Braxton's Bounce (2005), to name a few. His newest project is MP3, which is scheduled for release July 27th, 2010. All pre-ordered CDs will be signed by the saxophonist himself as way of saying thank you. So visit Hidden Beach's online store.

Mike Phillips plays the lead on sax joined by Freddy Colon and Munyungo Jackson (percussion), Joel Whitney and Stanley Cooper (guitar), and Nate Jones (bass). The album is produced by J.R. Hutson, Jamie Hawkins, JaMal, Keith Crouch, Q Coleman and Eric Wesley, who also performed on major parts of the project. Outstanding guest-musicians are Stevie Wonder, Marcus Miller, Natalie Stewart, Lauren Evans, and Norman Brown.

Mike had the idea for the title of his new album in 2002, when the format MP3 and came into full flower. While on stage with Prince and Stevie Wonder, Mike built on his imagination of his third project, a collection of contemporary jazz and R&B.

With the starting Picture Me Rollin' Mike Phillips showcases the brilliant concept of contemporary music, the Urban beat, we are familiar with since the beginnings of the Unwrapped serial and big asset of various saxes combined in overdubbed style. Stevie Wonder says Hello with a short harmonica solo.

7 Days In Paradise offers a special flavor. Penned and produced by Jamie Hawkins, who is known by his great melodies and work with Destinys Child, Carlos Santana, Amerie and Dwanye Wiggins, the song grows propelled by a conglomerate of beats and Munyungo Jackson's percussion. In the middle of the song Marcus Miller sets in on bass, while Mike performs skywards with his soprano sax.

Stay Awhile is Mike's lesson in harmony. A heartfelt ballade painted with perfect chords. Fallin' features British born songstress Natalie Stewart. Natalie and Marsha Ambrosius teamed to the neo-soul duo Floetry and had success with albums like Floetic and Flo’Ology. Currently Natalie “The Floacist” Stewart is working on her upcoming solo album set to release on October 28th.

Time Of Your Life, a collaboration of producer Keith Crouch and Lauren Evans, highlights this R&B queen. Her vocals are featured on albums by Grammy award winner Boney James, rock legend Mick Fleetwood, and revered hitmaker Barry Manilow to name a few. As a songwriter, Lauren has paired with Robbie Nevil, Rex Rideout, legendary superproducers Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, and many others. Lauren is ready to start her solo career.

Mike Phillips graces the Jamie Hawkins ballade Gonna Miss You. Also remarkable the fine horn arrangement of this song. Featured singer on Take Our Time With Love is Andre “Choirboi” Allen. He shares the lead with Mike (sax) and Norman Brown (guitar). Jamie Hawkins presents the next R&B piece Come Inside With Me garnished with some tricky trumpet adds.

Right Person Wrong Time combines attractive sites of smooth jazz and rap featuring Jamal. Listen to the jazzy reprise of Picture Me Rollin'. The final Party With Mike Phillips is powerful rhythm and music. Come into emotional movement. Dance to the conjuring sound of Mike's sax.

When you search the musical intersection of Hip Hop and Jazz you will unquestionably meet Mike Phillips. His new album MP3 is the unique cornerstone of this exciting facet of music.








Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: MP3
Artist: Mike Phillips
Year: 2010
Length: 0:41:08
Genre: General Jazz
Label: Hidden Beach recordings


01 Picture Me Rollin' [3:34]
02 7 Days In Paradise [4:49]
03 Stay Awhile [3:37]
04 Fallin' [4:22]
05 Time Of Your Life [3:43]
06 Gonna Miss You [3:22]
07 Take Our Time With Love [4:05]
08 Come Inside With Me [4:03]
09 Right Person Wrong Time [3:11]
10 Picture Me Rollin' (Reprise) [1:53]
11 Party With Mike Phillips [4:29]


More reviews:

Uncommon Denominator

You Have Reached Mike Phillips