Dave Koz is the charming prince of smooth jazz. After his self-titled solo debut in 1990 he dominated the charts with Lucky Man (1993), Off the Beaten Path (1996) and three holiday albums Ė December Makes Me Feel This Way (1997), Dave Koz & Friends: A Smooth Jazz Christmas (2001) and Memories of a Winterís Night (2007), furthermore The Dance (1999),  Saxophonic (2003), At the Movies (2007), followed by Dave Koz at the Movies Double Feature CD + DVD, and Dave Koz: Greatest Hits (2008).

Since 2005 he is the front man of Dave Koz & Friends Jazz Cruises and since 2006 he is also host of a syndicated afternoon show for Broadcast Architecture's new Smooth Jazz Network. This 4 times Grammy nominated musical artist is in addition host of a weekly half-hour television series named Frequency put on by Fast Focus. His career was crowned in 2009 with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Looks like all is running well for this lucky man, who is an in demand musician on many concerts and festivals. But then he comments thoughtfully: ďIn many ways, I feel like this is the beginning of my career. That may sound strange, because Iíve enjoyed a wonderful and blessed career up until now, but I feel like my best days are still ahead of me. Iíve made a Dave Koz record that fans of my earlier work will be able to connect to. Itís still me. Itís not too foreign, but itís me in 2010, coming from a different perspective thatís reflective of the times weíre living in and the changes that continue to define this new era.Ē

Dave Koz is a perfectionist. When he records a new album, you can await finest quality in music and to assure it, Dave assembled the who-is-who of music business like Lee Ritenour, Brian Culbertson, Marcus Miller, Sheila E., Jonathan Butler, Boney James, Paul Jackson Jr., Lenny Castro, Omar Hakim, Herb Alpert, Keb' Mo' and many more. "Make the most out of your life", is Dave's motto.

When the weather becomes sunny and you want to Put The Top Down, then listen to Dave's breeze with guitar legend Lee Ritenour, who brings the progressive rock element into smooth jazz with dreamy and edgy guitar riffs. When Will I Know For Sure is a novelty, because Dave on soprano jazz pairs with Boney James on tenor sax to a duet of seldom seen beauty.

Who can such a duet been surpassed? It's Always Been You gives the answer. Dave Koz meets Brian O'Connor on French horn. When both sounds melt together, we reach the summit of graced smoothness. Getaway is Dave's Caribbean island of relaxation. Singers Jonathan Butler and Sheila E. join Dave Koz on this luminous reggae. Ray Parker jr.'s guitar transcends the reggae to Latin flavored jazz.

Burt Bacharach's This Guy's In Love With You showcases trumpet legend Herb Albert, but the real sensation is Dave Koz, who sings for the first time lead vocals on this classic tune. On tour again he presents this song already as part of his current program. Anything's Possible is the uplifting anthemic song for a new start. Applause to Dan Higgins, Gary Grant and Chuck Findley for the fantastic horns and to Marcus Miller for the awesome arrangement.

Koz offers There's A Better Way blended with Keb' Mo's blues guitar style. Blues is Keb's history and culture. Dave takes just a pinch. Dare more and walk that way, Dave. Dave describes Start All Over Again featuring Dana Glover as one highlight of his album. Dana is known for performing film songs (The Wedding Planner, Shrek, Two Weeks Notice). Her emotional style is a marvelous enrichment for the album.

Reflecting about his previous music Dave Koz decided to Think Big! That's means to get of the outdated scripts that don't work any longer and fall into the groove. Inhaling musical ideas of Dixieland, Smooth Jazz and Jazz Dave approaches new soundscapes. After the Journey with all the ups and downs Dave returns to what he masters at its best, smooth and romantic ballads.

Koz invited Jeff Lorber to join him on Remember Where You Come From. A vintage organ sound, Jeff's formidable piano play and the fine horn background, what do Dave need more to reach a high level of music? A  master of the soft tones, Dave performs his manifest on Whisper In Your Ear. The album closes with Dave last Farewell What You Leave Behind. Dave dedicated this song to Wayman Tisdale and Hal Gabe.

With this major project Dave Koz showcases again his outstanding skills as one of the leading smooth jazz saxophonists. Against all odds Dave Koz trusts in future and says Hello Tomorrow!







Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Hello Tomorrow
Artist: Dave Koz
Year: 2010
Length: 0:59:01
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Concord Records


01 Put The Top Down / Dave Koz Feat. Lee Ritenour [5:01]
02 When Will I Know For Sure / Dave Koz Feat. Boney James [4:53]
03 It's Always Been You [3:57]
04 Getaway / Dave Koz Feat. Jonathan Butler & Sheila E. [4:46]
05 This Guy's In Love With You / Dave Koz Feat. Herb Alpert [4:56]
06 Anything's Possible [4:05]
07 There's A Better Way / Dave Koz Feat. Keb' Mo' [4:34]
08 Start All Over Again / Dave Koz Feat. Dana Glover [4:31]
09 Think Big / Dave Koz Feat. Christian Scott, Marcus Miller, Keb' Mo' & Brian Culbertson [5:00]
10 The Journey [5:55]
11 Remember Where You Come From / Dave Koz Feat. Jeff Lorber [4:38]
12 Whisper In Your Ear [4:48]
13 What You Leave Behind [1:57]