Two people have significantly influenced the musical life of British guitarist Mark Jaimes. One was the lead singer of the group Simply Red Mick Hucknal, with whom he toured for several years as a guitarist and also recorded various records. The second was the legendary producer, songwriter and musician Rod Temperton, with whom he had made first contacts before the latter prematurely departed from artistic life.

He met a variety of smooth jazz musicians as the house guitarist at Pizza Express, whose respective performances he ably supported. It was radio DJ and promoter Jimi King who motivated him to finally start a solo career. It was the Corona crisis that ultimately gave him the time to realize this project at last.

Hear At Last will be released this month. Mark has written most of the tracks, one with Oli Silk and two with Danny Saxon. The album also contains a cover of a famous Rod Temperton track. Mark performs on the album guitar, bass and programming. Further musicians are Danny Saxon (keyboards, backing vocals, programming), Oli Silk (keyboards), Westley Joseph and Oscar Seaton (drums), Dwayne "Smitty" Smith (bass) and Patti Austin (vocals).

What could be more appropriate than to invite keyboardist and labelmate Oli Silk, with whom Mark has collaborated on numerous shows at Pizza Express, to join the starter, Evenin'. The piece comes with a lot of pep and shows the world class of this formation. Peak Too Soon is the second piece of this fruitful collaboration. With an unbelievable flow this track deserves your constant attention. With ABC, Mark brings his own note-based literacy.

6 After 8 has an epic sonic depth which illustrates the compositional power that Mark reveals in his pieces. The funky Heads Up features the agile Rick Braun on trumpet on an amazing accessible and rhythmically streamed tune. Jaimes' cover of Rod Temperton's Midnight Rendezvous impresses with a strong and memorable George Benson flavor and some of Rod's incredible stardust visibly falls on Mark's guitar playing as well.

The matter-of-factly titled We'll See captivates with the special feature of Mark playing with star guitarist Peter White. Both guitarists sound like identical twins. Sidetracked banges out with fluent, precise guitar riffs just masterful.

Hear At Last serves another brilliant and stellar guitar play. Swiss born Miel de Botton is a singer Mark works with since several years. He has dedicated and written Miel's Song to her. A mellow tune with a romantic attitude. Final piece is Trigger Happy which confirms the overall positive impression.

Mark Jaimes' debut album Hear At Last is packed with great tunes and not only for DJs a must-have and real treat.





Buy the album in all stores

Album information

Title: Hear At Last
Artist: Mark Jaimes
Year: 2021
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Trippin 'N' Rhythm Records

1) Evenin' (4:04)
2) Peak Too Soon (4:09)
3) ABC (3:34)
4) 6 After 8 (3:54)
5) Heads Up (3:53)
6) Midnight Rendezvous (4:11)
7) We'll See (4:06)
8) Sidetracked (3:56)
9) Hear At Last (3:56)
10) Miel's Song (3:43)
11) Trigger Happy (3:56)