Nigerian-born, Los Angeles-based singer Douyé (pronounced Doe-Yay) is influenced by  Sade, Dianne Reeves, Chanté Moore, Regina Belle, and Rachelle Ferrell. A high measuring pole and at the same time commitment, which Zouyé wants to achieve.

Douyé started her career in 2007 with her debut album Journey now followed by her sophomore album So Much Love (2013). Douyé has written all songs together with British songwriter Terry Shaddick. She is supported by some known musicians such as the late Ricky Lawson, bassist Ron Jenkins, saxophonist Eric Marienthal, trumpet player Rick Braun, keyboardist Phillip Saisse and more.

The album opens with Til Morning Comes, you can say all great theater. Not only that she is amazingly close to Sade's style, even the instrumentation is finest. Love Rules excels through subtle chorus with impressing harmony. Most of the instruments of this song are performed by JR Hutson, who also recorded with Jill Scott.

Dance With You starts with a nice Flamenco guitar intro by Craig Bell and stays in this style during the whole piece. This Spanish flavored song reminds me of Madonna's La Isla Bonita. Especially the song Man Enough needed great efforts to record, as Douyé describes in her blog. With keyboardist Phillip Saisse and his team of prolific musicians they "nailed it".

Golden Days gets his lyrical character by Rick Braun's excellent interpretation on the flugelhorn. Also interesting is how Douyé brings into play different variations of her voice. Whoopsadaisy, So Much Love is a big tribute to Fela Ransome Kuti. What a thankful African influence Douyé lets shine on her work. That is a class act of African Pop in the style of Angelique Kidjo or Khadya Nin.

Wake Up goes into another direction again with great orchestration perfectly realized by Phillip Saisse. Douyé comments: "I was touched to write this song because of the way the issues surrounding mental illness have become more visible in our society lately, often in tragic and difficult-to-deal-with ways. Writing this song was my way of talking about it. With Live Is Good Douyé spreads positive mood, cheering up the listener. Saxophonist Eric Marienthal contributes to this encouraging atmosphere.

More thoughtful tones Douyé intones with Writing On The Wall. This contemplation give Douyé and Jeff Pescetto with their vocal diversity a forceful character full of repentance. There sounds With You much happier. The relationship is also the central theme of You're The Only One. Douyé has nothing but praise for her partner. With the reggae-flavored Loved By Love she continues her favorite subject. On the mellow Through It All Douyé finally duets with Ramon Stagnaro, who accompanies her on acoustic guitar.

Douyé's album So Much Love is matured like a fine wine. A strong personality is leaving her musical tracks.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: So Much Love
Artist: Douye
Year: 2014
Length: 0:56:37
Genre: General R&B
Label: Betsy Blue Music/Groove Note Records


01 Til Morning Comes [4:11]
02 Love Rules [5:54]
03 Dance With You [4:33]
04 Man Enough [3:47]
05 Golden Days (Featuring Rick Braun) [4:34]
06 So Much Love [6:12]
07 Wake Up [3:52]
08 Life Is Good (Featuring Eric Marienthal) [4:34]
09 Writing On The Wall [3:45]
10 With You (Featuring Eric Marienthal) [4:19]
11 You're The Only One [4:57]
12 Loved By Love [4:03]
13 Through It All [1:54]