Tony Dancy is since his 16th year in music business. With his first band Tony's Tygers he had his first hit Little By Little. Later Tony founded Quiffy, who stormed the Orange County nightclub scene. He started his solo career with the album A Hopeless Romantic (1999) followed by Midnight Dancing (2004). These sophisticated adult pop tunes offered love songs and danceable disco.
Some Kinda Jazzy Poppy Jazz is Tony's first step into the smooth jazz realm. The album was produced by Joe Turano, who is also the featured artist on saxophones, keyboards, flute, accordion, percussion and vocals. Tony performs guitars, percussion, strings, vocals, Eric Hervey bass guitar, Reggie Bordeaux and Burleigh Drummond drums, Novi Novog viola.

First track on the album is Dizzy Pears named after a delectable dessert created by Tony's chef cousin, Amanda. In the lead is Joe Turano on soprano sax presenting a lovely melody decorated with some improvisational excursions and counteracted by Tony on a rocking guitar.

Joyce Is Not Here is a tribute to a long unseen friend in Hong Kong. Joe and guitarist Gary Falcone expresses her sympathy with devotional solos. On Sadie's Magic Garden develops Joe Turano, the musical director of Al Jarreau, a great emotional range on his favorite instrument.

Gypsy Johnny is a homage to Tony's father John. There is some Django Reinhardt in the air. Overall this album offers solid pop melodies like Fade Away and Cedaredge Dreamscape. Don't await Urban Contemporary. This album tends to the Pop style of the 70's. More Cliff Richard and Gilbert O'Sullivan than Motown sound.
Martha's Mood showcases anew Joe Turano, this time as flutist supported by strings and a light Bossa Nova rhythm. With Resurrection Tony Darcy finally reflects on his skills as a pop rock singer. The song with the greatest authenticity on this album.

Spend a good time discovering the musical world of Tony Dancy on Some Kinda Jazzy Poppy Jazz!







Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Tony Dancy Presents Some Kinda Jazzy Poppy Jazz
Artist: Tony Dancy
Year: 2013
Length: 0:34:54
Genre: General Jazz
Label: Independent

01 Dizzy Pears [5:04]
02 Joyce Is Not Here [4:33]
03 Sadie's Magic Garden [4:05]
04 Gypsy Johnny [4:00]
05 Fade Away [4:16]
06 Cedaredge Dreamscape [5:21]
07 Martha's Mood [3:51]
08 Resurrection [3:45]