Hailing from the "birth place of jazz", Vandell Andrew was immediately infected by the jazz virus. With the saxophone as chosen instrument he joined after the first lessons the infamous St.Augustine "Marching 100" band. Hurricane Katrina forced him to move to Dallas, Texas. Sharing stage with local musicians he had the opportunity to perform with Kirk Whalum and Tom Braxton.

Now it's time for his solo career and how could it be better started than with a debut album. So I proudly present you Vandell's first album entitled Years Later ... (2011). He has written the tracks over the past five years. You'll find much of his life experience in these tunes.

In early August 2005, Katrina was just a name. After the hurricane devastated the Gulf Coast many people lost their home like Vandrell Andrew who describes this situation in his song After The Storm. Could This Be is the raising question featured by Vandell's soprano sax.

Feelin' It displays Vandell's reflection about his condition, melancholy shares the place with frustration and homelessness. With the up-tempo At Midnight Vandell lets these dark feelings behind him to entertain the audience with a positive and seductive melody.

The contemplative ballade A Letter To My Unborn becomes a space of melancholy. Mellow, unmolested and meditative. Affliction, a state of pain, distress, or misery. That emphasizes the testing of his character in undergoing misfortunes. Another phase, Vandell walked through. But there is also encouraging thinking on this album like Walk My Way.

Forget all this trouble and let the good times roll. Let's Spend It Together gives you the right groove for a lovely night. The Bridge throws you back into darkness and melancholy.

Years Later ... is Vandell Andrew's treatment of his shocking experience after the distorting roll over of Katrina. Hopefully a passing phase of his life.





Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Years Later ...
Artist: Vandell Andrew
Year: 2011
Length: 0:34:06
Genre: Smooth Jazz


01 After The Storm [4:24]
02 Could This Be [3:23]
03 Feelin' It [4:28]
04 At Midnight [3:55]
05 A Letter To My Unborn [2:45]
06 Affliction [3:35]
07 Walk My Way [2:36]
08 Let's Spend It Together [4:05]
09 The Bridge [4:54]