Jim Peterik


1970 Wrote and sang The Ides' million seller "Vehicle" which reached #2 in Billboard and #1 in Cashbox.

1971 Wrote and sang The Ides' song "L.A. Goodbye" which stayed at #1 on the WLS Chart for five weeks.

1976 Epic Records released Jim's solo album Don't Fight the Feeling. Toured with Heart and Boston.

1977 Co-produced R&B group Essence for Epic Records. Wrote cult classic "Sweet Fools" which is now included in Cleveland International's release: Greatest Hits 1977-1983.

1978 Jim co-founded Survivor.

1980-1981 Jim co-wrote hits for .38 Special including "Rocking Into the Night", "Hold on Loosely", "Caught Up in You", "Wild-Eyed Southern Boys", and "Fantasy Girl". He also co-wrote theme to Heavy Metal with Sammy Hagar and two albums with Henry Paul of The Outlaws.

1982 Jim and Survivor have their first million seller with "Eye of the Tiger" - theme from Rocky III, which he co-wrote, co-produced and played keyboard and guitar. The song, from Survivor's third album, stayed at #1 for 7 weeks on the Billboard charts and won a Grammy award, a People's Choice Award, and an Oscar nomination.

1984 Jim and Survivor released the platinum Vital Signs which produced three top 10 singles, "I Can't Hold Back","High on You", and "The Search is Over". 1985 Jim co-wrote the million-selling theme for Rocky IV -- "Burning Heart" for Survivor.

1986 Jim co-wrote "Is This Love" which reached the top ten for Survivor.

1988 Co-wrote all songs for Survivor's eighth album Too Hot To Sleep - included AC. Charter Across The Miles.

1990 Reunited with all original members of The Ides of March for concert attended by 25,000 in their hometown of Berwyn, Illinois. Produced Indiana rock artist David Carl as well as Chicago rock band Captive Heart for later European release on MTM Records. Two of Jim's songs, "Vehicle" by The Ides of March and "Ever Since The World Began" are featured in Sylvester Stallone's "Lock-Up" movie.

1991 Wrote two songs for The Doobie Brothers release Brotherhood, "Under the Spell" and Divided Highway". Wrote end title theme for John Candy's "Delirious" movie -- the song entitled "Beyond Our Wildest Dreams". Wrote songs for Atlantic recording act Tangiers and Co-wrote songs with Tom Littlefield for the EMI group, The Questionnaires. Renewed writing with .38 Special -- co-wrote "Rebel to Rebel" and The Sound of Your Voice" for their "Bone Against Steel" release.

1992 Recorded Ideology with The Ides of March -- a rerecording of their hits plus four new songs. Produced "Moon Not Banana" for Chicago artist Cathy Richardson. Co-wrote four songs on that album. Co-wrote "Space & Time" with John Wetton of Asia fame for his 1993 release "Battlelines".

1993 Reunited with Survivor for European and American tour. Released greatest hits package with two new songs that Jim co-wrote "You Know Who You Are" and Hungry Years". Co-wrote two songs for Cheap Trick's "Woke Up With a Monster " album.

1994 Co-wrote and co-produced album with Christian artist Jillian. Also recorded second album for David Carl. Produced R&B Act A.S.A.P. for Legacy Records.

1996 Inroads made in the Nashville writing circles; wrote songs with Skip Ewing, Troy Seals, Dave Gibson, Max D. Barnes, John Greenebaum, and others. Wrote "Nobody's Fool" with Henry Paul for Blackhawks 1997 release, "Love and Gravity". Performed an acoustical opening for acts such as The Beach Boys, REO Speedwagon and Credence Clearwater. Performed at a sold-out show at Nashville's legendary Bluebird Cafe.

1997 Jim puts The Ides of March into overdrive performing for thousands on the Midwest's vital festival scene. Releases Age Before Beauty E.P. which includes "Moon Out Of Phase" and the Milwaukee Bucks theme song "Friendly Stranger" - an instrumental adaptation of "Vehicle". .38 Special released Resolution which featured 10 collaborations with Jim including their top 15 charting "Fade to Blue" -- a permanent fixture on rock radio in the summer of 1997.

1998 to present Jim continues to tour with The Ides of March. Co-writes three songs for CMC artists VanZant including single release "Can't Say It Loud Enough". Co-writes with Lynyrd Skynyrd, REO Speedwagon ( "Just for You" from new ballads album), Blackhawk and Christian artist Al Denson (co-wrote title cut "Tabula Rasa"). Writes with Cinderella for future Sony release. Writes "Dream Angel" with Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys for brand new Giant release. Produces Toronto blues artist Anthony Gomes. Produces R&B act Marzette Griffith (formerly of Essence). Continues solo performing -- releases solo album project Jim Peterik & World Stage featuring Jim and many of the artists he has had the pleasure of working with in the past.

Jim Peterik - Grammy¨ winning singer, songwriter and guitar/keyboardist - has unveiled his first smooth jazz project, Jim Peterik's Lifeforce. As the founding member of both Survivor and The Ides Of March, he has been responsible for eighteen Top 10 hits, three of which, "Vehicle," "The Search Is Over," and the Grammy¨ winning "Eye Of the Tiger" (theme from Rocky III), made it all the way to No. 1. Peterik is also responsible for many of the hits of .38 Special, such as "Hold On Loosely," "Caught Up In You," and "Fantasy Girl." His songs have been featured worldwide in countless movies, television shows, sporting events and commercials.

Who knew that behind the rock legend was a musician steeping himself almost exclusively in smooth jazz and new age in his time off? Peterik said, "My wife of 35 years, Karen, and I have been huge fans since day one of Pat Metheny, David Grusin, Spyro Gyra, Keiku Matsui, Acoustic Alchemy, Basia and so many more. Writing and performing this style myself is just a natural progression from fan to artist."

Jim Peterik's Lifeforce is a potent synergy of his many influences through the years. Along with the exciting new songs he has written for this album, there are also jazzy re-imaginings of two of his biggest hits: "Eye Of The Tiger" and "Vehicle." In addition, "The Search Is Over" has been recast as a duet between Peterik and Lisa McClowry, a rising smooth jazz singer who is featured with him throughout this album.

"My message and mood is positive and uplifting," Peterik said. "Much like the theme of 'Eye Of The Tiger,' I feel that visualization of your desired outcome is the first step to actualization. This theme, as well as making sure we appreciate each day, runs through my songs."

The album, produced by Peterik and Larry Millas, features some of the world's finest musicians: Ed Breckenfeld on drums, Mike Aquino and Peterik on guitar, Klem Hayes on bass, Christian Cullen, Scott May, Jeff Lantz and Jim on keyboards, Steve Eisen on sax and flute and Lisa McClowry on vocals. Special guests include smooth jazz great Nick Colionne on the standout track, "Unconditional Surrender," with Larry Gray and Sharay Reed on upright bass.