Mike McEvoy


Michael is an American composer based in London. He grew up in a musical family studying piano and viola, and is a self-taught guitarist and bass player.

In his teens, Michael attended the Centre for Young Musicians in Pimlico, and played in the London Schools Symphony Orchestra. After a spell at Leeds College of Music, Michael headed back to London and established himself as a sought after session musician and arranger working with artists including Scritti Politti, Orange Juice and Ian Dury.

Michael went on to produce and write with top UK pop acts, including Soul II Soul, Curiosity Killed the Cat and the James Taylor Quartet. Later, he toured with Steve Winwood and Sting, and played on tracks for artists as varied as Mark Morrison and Future Sound of London.

Michael's first experiences of composing for screen were Beeban Kidron's film, 'Vroom', starring Clive Owen and David Thewlis, followed by 'The Bearskin - An Urban Fairytale', starring Tom Waits. His music has featured in a number of high profile UK documentaries including 'J'accuse' (C4), 'Equinox: Fly Navy' (C4) and 'Battle of the Hood and Bismarck' (C4/ITN) and 'Dog's World' (Discovery/Wall to Wall).

Returning to the USA in 1998, Michael went on to compose music for documentaries on A&E (Biography), History Channel (Haunted History), PBS and CMT. During this time he received three regional Emmy nominations and was awarded the Emmy in January 2004 for Best Instrumental Music for his work on a documentary narrated by Isaac Hayes, 'Tennessee Yearbook'.

His experience also includes writing production music for libraries and live events, and in 2003 produced vocals for the American Idol Video Game.

While in the USA, he studied composition with Professor Michael Alec Rose, and conducting with Lyn Bingham at Blair School of Music (Vanderbilt University).

He returned to London to take a place on the Composition for Screen course at the Royal College of Music and in October 2004 received his Masters Degree. Since then he has scored the documentary 'French Beauty' for the 'Storyville' series (BBC2) and 'E=mc2' (US title, 'Einstein's Big Idea') a feature length docu-drama for Darlow/Smithson Productions and WGBH.

Michael now teaches part-time at the Royal College of Music and continues his professional work as a composer.
counter customizable free hit

'The Last Traffic Jam' released on DVD and enhanced CD, performing in concert with Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi during the 1994 reunion tour.

Co-writer with Wookie and Lain Gray on on Wookie's debut album. 'Back Up, Back Up' reached # 2 in the UK dance charts in May 2001.

Soul II Soul
Writing and producing for new Soul II Soul album and for artists signed to the Soul II Soul label. Co-wrote 'Love Come Through' on album '1990 - A new Decade'.

Mark Morrison
Keyboards and guitar on album "Return of the Mack" including title track.

Patrice Rushen
Co-writer of track 'Caravan' on album 'Anything But Ordinary'

Steve Winwood
Programming and keyboards on album "Junction 7"

Bee Gees
Keyboards and guitar on title track of album "Still Waters"

Co-writer of title track and 'I like It' for debut album 'Push It'

James Taylor Quartet
Co-writer & producer on album 'Supernatural Feeling'

Kathy Troccoli
Co writer of "We Will Know Love" on album Corner of Eden, winner of the Dove Award (1999) for Inspirational Album of the Year.

Lalomie Washburn
Producer/co-writer on album, including club hit
'Try My Love'. Also released on Rebirth of the Cool compilation album.

Michael J McEvoy
Own instrumental jazz album released August 1997 - 'Night Sea Journey'.

Instinct Jazz
Tracks released on several Smooth Jazz compilations :
New Voices 3 and 4, and Sweet Emotions

Future Sound of London
Orchestrations/string arrangements for forthcoming album

Ian Dury
Co-writer, arranger and musician on album 'Four Thousand Week's Holiday'

Scritti Pollitti
Songs To Remember. Keyboards and vocoder

A further project is "The Bobby Blackston Band" comprises some of Londons finest musicians including drummers Chris Taylor (Roachford), Crispin Taylor (Galliano, Push), and Walfredo Reyes jr. (Santana, Joe Sample) plus horn players Iain Dixon (Mike Walker), Jacko Peake (Push, Paul Weller), Gerard Presencer (US3, Herbie Hancock), Chris Margery (Incognito). They got together in 1997 to record these compositions, but soon after the mixing sessions ended, the tapes went missing while in transit to the USA, and were undiscovered for almost 10 years. They mysteriously appeared in a New York City basement last year and are now available on the CD 'Elevations' (Rezzonator Music). Buy the album at http://www.bobbyblackstonband.com or CDBaby

Also available at http://www.tunetribe.com/TheBobbyBlackstonBand.